new

Saturday Jan 19, 2019 10:30 am

First Church is partnering with the Disabled Contingent of the Women’s March, coming up on Saturday, January 19.

Monday Dec 17, 2018 12:00 pm

Beginning in January of 2019, the printed Carillon (and the accompanying e-version) will be produced every other week.

Saturday Jan 12, 2019 12:00 pm

FCCB has a long history of taking care of the unhoused homeless. In fact, FCCB hosted a winter storm shelter in the Large Assembly for years until the fire.

Sunday Dec 30, 2018 11:45 am

On Sunday, December 30, 2018, First Church celebrated the ministry of Minister of Community Life Rachel Bauman, who was leaving to become the Senior Minister at St. John's UCC on Madeline Island in Wisconsin.

Sunday Jan 20, 2019 11:45 am
For the Learning Hour on January 20, 2019, Dr. Henry L. Abrons will present a program on Single Payer Healthcare—“Improved Healthcare for All”—at 11:45 am in Loper Chapel.
Sunday Feb 03, 2019 11:45 am

At the First Church Annual Meeting on Sunday, February 2, the congregation will vote on becoming a Welcoming, Inclusive, Supportive and Engaged (WISE) Congregation for Mental Health.

Sunday Jan 27, 2019 11:45 am

On Sunday, January 27, The Ministry of Families, Children and Youth (FamChY) will sponsor another Church World Service (CWS) Disaster Relief project of assembling hygiene kits for refugees and other survivors of disaster at

Sunday Jan 20, 2019 11:45 am

On Sunday, January 20, an informational meeting about the 2019 budget will be held in the Sanctuary right after worship.

Sunday Jan 27, 2019 11:45 am

Companionship Training is being given again on January 27, 2019. This will be a Learning Hour after church at 11:45 am – 12:45 pm in Durant House.

Saturday Mar 02, 2019 08:00 am

First Church is partnering with City of Refuge UCC in Oakland and Pacific School of Religion (PSR) to host the WISE Congregations for Mental Health Conference from 8 am – 5 pm on March 2, 2019 at

Thursday Mar 07, 2019 06:00 pm
Interested in becoming a better music sight-reader?
Tuesday Jan 15, 2019 09:15 am

Senior Minister Molly Baskette holds office hours each week on Tuesdays.

Wednesday Jan 23, 2019 10:30 pm

Young Adult Minister Kit Novotny will have office hours on Wednesday, January 23, 10:30 am –12:30 pm, Cafe Leila, 1724 San Pablo Ave. Berkeley, CA 94702.

Thursday Nov 15, 2018 12:00 pm

Some of you may have noticed in Sunday’s bulletin the use of “kin-dom” in the Lord’s Prayer. First Church has a long and proud tradition of inclusivity, reflecting gender neutrality in prayers, sermons, and song lyrics.

Sunday Dec 16, 2018 10:00 am
Find out who will be preaching at First Church on upcoming Sunday mornings.
Tuesday Sep 04, 2018 12:00 pm

First Church has launched the First Church Berkeley GodCast, a podcast featuring the scripture and sermon from the weekly Sunday service.

Friday Aug 10, 2018 12:00 pm

First Church member Kerrie Hein presented a series of five seminars on Mental Health Promotion. sponsored by the Mental Health Ministry Team.